Edgehill Cafe

So it’s Friday. One more link in a long, winding tail of penultimates. Today I’m at Edgehill Cafe. Normally I’m less inclined to come here because the little mall they’re in just opened a pay lot, but I was lucky enough to find an open spot on the street.

It’s louder than normal today. Lots of handshakes and first impressions and enthusiastic conversations. Used coffee stirrers strewn about on tables like little bloody swords. One guy is studying; there’s a business meeting at my 2 o’clock. Dollars and words and hopes and caffeine all slosh together to the rhythm of the folksy tunes coming from the inconspicuous speakers on the walls.

The coffee is good. Nothing fancy, but rich and smooth enough to set it apart and make me get it again. There’s a wide assortment of organic teas and drinks, as well as a decent sized food menu.

The crowd is split. Half have Macs, half have PCs. [I rest firmly and confidently with the former and our silent solidarity is utterly beautiful. Stand strong, my friends.]

No sitting area is the same. I love this. The decor and furniture are as eclectic as the clientele. I’m in an old patio-looking chair with aged, ruggedly chipped orange paint and a stained white cushion. There’s an urban style wooden bar by the window with stools and lamps above. A long dining room table with ornate wood and leather chairs commands the middle of the room, balanced by a three-sided nook in the back corner with pillows and privacy. It’s basically one big room, as inviting as it is boisterous and as simple as it is dynamic.

But what keeps me coming back is the atmosphere it fosters. It’s not hyper cluttered or Manhattan-like busy like some shops, so I never feel rushed or like people are breathing down my neck to get up outta her’ (except for the two hour street parking). That, to me, is much more important than the coffee. And the barista taught me how to properly say “Au Lait”. What a sweetheart.

It’s becoming one of my favorite coffee shops, and you should definitely check it out.

